TO GRAB OR NOT TO GRAB?

TO GRAB OR NOT TO GRAB?

A research as opined!

To grab, or not to grab, that is the question
Whether it is a requirement or an addition
To the degree I came to get or my being,
Or just to woo a lady to complete my geeing,
I hereby linger in my state of perplexity
To calm the waters of this waving complexity.
~TETTEHdMUSE

As we all await the freshmen and women in September, the rush will soon be on for the ladies especially. In our earnest waiting, I tried to get some views on the subject of grabbing to help understand its intricacies. Enjoy…

Grabbing is one of the commonest activities in the tertiary institution. It is the commonest term known to every student on campus with gross challenge from ‘Gobε’ possibly. The word grab as known in English means “to take hold of something quickly, suddenly or forcefully”. On campus it delineates the act of wooing someone.

I really have to speak to some people in order to do justice to the topic. So I asked:

WHY GRAB ON CAMPUS?

Here are some sampled views:

“I WILL GET TO KNOW THE PERSON BETTER BY FINDING OUT FROM FRIENDS AND KEEP AN EYE ON HER. ALSO TO BUILD A LONG LASTING RELATIONSHIP.”Prince (about to grab)

“I JUST I WANTED SOMEONE TO BE WITH”. Catherine(grabbed)

“BECAUSE THE GUY IS SPIRITUAL, I WANT HIM TO HELP ME GROW SPIRITUAL TOO”. Vera(grabbed)

“THE UNIVERSITY IS A PLACE YOU CAN FIND SOMEONE WITH POTENTIAL, LIKE SOMEONE WHO HAS A BRIGHT FUTURE”. John(grabbed)

Despite the desire of most people to grab on campus. Some students see it as a waste of time.

Nana said:

“I CAME HERE TO STUDY. WHAT BROUGHT ME HERE IS EDUCATION. DON’T YOU THINK IF I FOCUS ON MY EDUCATION I WILL MEET SOMEONE SOMEWHERE? AFTER ALL GRABBING MAKES PEOPLE BETTER AND RUINS SOME PEOPLE.”

The university is a place where different people from different nations, backgrounds, religion and the more live. In the light of this, I questioned the interviewees on how they maintain the relationship during vacation. Unanimously, COMMUNICATION and TRUST is what they all count on.

Some also hold the view that; the ‘universal’ nature of the university presents them with ‘universal partners’ to choose from.

Emma summarizes it as:

“YOU SEE THE BIG, SMALL, SLIM, TALL, BIG BUTTS ETC, THAT IS TO SAY YOU GET YOUR CHOICE OF PARTNER”.

What is your view?

After the interviews, I find Nana’s assertion: IT(GRABBING) MAKES PEOPLE BETTER AND RUINS SOME PEOPLE, worth questioning. Its truth or falsity is what I intend to validate.

With a look at Vera’s reason (spiritual growth), she will be a better person. About ruining people, the death of Gabby Small, a suicide case in Central University, is an example. Often have we heard of students breaking up their partners at the end of each semester, the broken hearts, you name it? I know most people will have different opinions but the truth here is that not all acts of grabbing will end in marriage for naturally not all humans have good intentions for a relationship.

The question: Who You Want to Grab? disclosed three types of grabbing, thus:

  1. Same level grabbing,
  2. High level grabbing and
  3. Low level grabbing.

With same level grabbing the partners are in the same level. Most guys and ladies are okay with this type for they believe they will have more time for themselves after school as they will be graduating together.

The high level grabbing is often preferred by the ladies. This type allows the lady to grab a guy above her level. The reason most ladies give for this type is that, the guy at that level is already the “Leader” and that he has that aura of responsibility around him. Mind you, this is the opinion most gave.

Low level grabbing is the choice of most guys. Here they get into a relationship with ladies below their level.

These types of grabbing involve people of different ages. A guy in L 100 maybe older than a lady in L 400 but the difference in levels poses a problem for most students. Kofi says “they say I want to ‘over-grab’ but I should go get my level. It hurts”. I felt his pain;(truly) I then deduce from here that, there happens to be a thin line between ‘grabbing’ and ‘love’ as many factors come to play.

Do you also think so?

Why will you grab on campus or allow yourself to be grabbed?

Let the debate continue…

Get interactive…

Credit: Solomon Tetteh Adusu

One response to “TO GRAB OR NOT TO GRAB?

Leave a comment